Geothermal Heat Pump and Energy Recovery Applications
ASHRAE Technical Committee 6.8

 Kirk T. Mescher Award


The engineering profession is characterized by an environment that can stifle innovation and reward the “plain vanilla” or “safe” approach to design. This award is in memory of Kirk T Mescher, PE, an engineer who specialized in HVAC but whose real forte was innovation. Kirk’s design ideas are clever in and of themselves but the courage to implement them in projects and freely share the results underscores his exemplary service to our industry.

Kirk started GSHP design in 1993 - prior to ASHRAE publishing design criteria for GSHP. He designed and constructed his own test rig for ground thermal properties testing. He developed the one pipe distribution system for GSHP systems and extended its application from individual building to campus scale. He pioneered ground loop designs that eliminated the use of costly valve vaults and associated manifolds along with outside air handling designs that permitted the use of standard heat pumps for this duty. His GSHP designs consistently achieved DOE scores in the 90’s percentile. Active in ASHRAE at all levels he achieved Fellow status, Distinguished Service, Exceptional Service, served as chair of the Society Program Committee, Conferences Committee, TC 5.5 (Air-to-Air Heat Recovery) was a member of TC 6.8 and served as an ASHRAE Distinguished Lecturer.

Potential Applicants - The Award this year is $1,500.

Applicants for the award could include Practicing Engineers interested in attending a GSHP course from ASHRAE or other provider or for purchase of design software, books, tools, etc.  Teaching faculty interested in developing course material on GSHP or otherwise providing GSHP information to students. Students interested in a career in HVAC and interested in attending an ASHRAE Conference or course addressing GSHP. Applicants could also include Practicing Engineers, Teaching Faculty, or Students who have an idea for an elegant way to be more energy efficient and could use this award to test the idea(s) and put the idea(s) into practice.

The award will be administered through the ASHRAE St Louis Chapter with support of the GWA.

KTM Award 2018 - Antash Najib

KTM AWARDEE 2018       

  ASHRAE Sacramento Valley Chapter, Kirk T Mescher 2018 Award Winner 

On Wednesday, December 5, 2018, the 2018 Kirk T. Mescher Award was presented to Mr. Antash Najib of the Western Cooling Efficiency Center. The award was presented by Ms. Lisa Meline at the ASHRAE Sacramento Valley Chapter Meeting. Mr. Najib is a Ph.D. candidate at the University of California, Davis Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.  Antash receives this award for his contributions in developing a low cost, shallow, large bore, helical ground heat exchanger (GHE).   He is also currently working on the development of a coupled heat and mass transfer model for simulating moisture transport in ground heat exchangers (GHE). 

Mr. Najib will be presenting a conference paper at the ASHRAE 2019 Winter Meeting in Atlanta entitled, “Modeling and Parametric Study of Large Diameter, Shallow Bore, Helical Ground Heat Exchanger.”


KTM Award 2017 - Laurent Gagne-Boisvert


ASHRAE MONTREAL CHAPTER Kirk T Mescher 2017 Award Winner

   The recipient of the second annual Kirk T. Mescher award is Laurent Gagne-Boisvert (right) from Quebec, Canada. The $1500 award was presented on January 15, 2018 at the Montréal Chapter meeting of ASHRAE by Dr. Michel Bernier (left), who represented ASHRAE TC6.8 at the ceremony. 

 This award was made to Mr. Gagne-Boisvert, an HVAC consultant at BPA, Inc., in recognition of his work in developing and designing energy efficiency measures for various buildings, including ground-source heat pump systems. His master’s thesis topic was, “Improvements to the design of GSHP systems.” And one of the papers resulting in this work included analysis of Kirk’s signature contributions to the industry, the “One-Pipe” design. The Kirk T. Mescher Award recognizes professional engineers, teaching faculty, and engineering students who have a passion to find new and creative ways to make projects as energy efficient but simplistic as possible. In addition to being a consulting engineer, Mr. Gagne-Boisvert is a musician and organizer of various fundraising shows to help non-profit  organizations and youth sports teams.


Please make the check out to "Pershing LLC" and note ASHRAE/KTM Award on the memo line.

Then mail directly to:
Renaissance Financial
5700 Oakland Ave #400
Attn: John Bayer
St. Louis, Mo 63110 

 Kirk T. Mescher Award Application

The Kirk T. Mescher Award was established in 2015 after the tragic loss of one of the brightest and most innovative LEED certified engineers, Kirk Mescher of CM Engineering. It was Kirk's passion to find new and creative ways to make projects as energy efficient but as simplistic as possible. So in his honor, this award will be given out to professional engineers, teaching faculty, and engineering students who have that same passion. Applicants should have an idea in GSHP, HVAC, or energy efficiency that is simple and elegant and should want to put that idea to the test. The award will be administered through the ASHRAE St. Louis Chapter and is currently available to ASHRAE Members.

Please email a copy of your application to or mail a copy of your application to Lisa Meline, P.O. Box 276665 Sacramento, CA 95827. Application Form PDF download.